Austria's "best" university

For years, Montanuniversität Leoben has consistently occupied top positions in various surveys and rankings.

In the “ShanghaiRanking’s Global Ranking of Academic Subjects 2018”, two of Montanuniversität’s subjects assumed top positions. In the field of Metallurgical Engineering, Montanuniversität was ranked 17 th out of 200 universities worldwide and in the field of Mining and Mineral Engineering 35 th out of 100 universities.
The top 9 of the ranking of the subject of Metallurgy included universities in the Far East, the USA and Australia, the list led by the University of Science and Technology in Beijing. Among the top-rated European universities, Montanuniversität was ranked 3 th behind the British University of Manchester and the German RWTH Aachen. Other well-known universities such as KU Leuven in Belgium and ETH Zurich in Switzerland (both ranked 51-75) are ranked significantly behind Montanuniversität.

In the field of Mining and Mineral Engineering, the top 20 list included universities from Asia, North America and Australia, the highest-ranking position occupying the University of Queensland. Among the European universities, Montanuniversität was listed 5 th behind the British Imperial College, the French Université de Lorraine, the Polish AGH Krakow and the Swedish TU in Lulea, but ahead of renowned universities such as ETH Zürich and the German TU Bergakademie Freiberg. The US-American Colorado School of Mines remained also far behind Montanunversität, ranking top 51-75.

In the survey “trendence Graduate Barometer 2018”, Montanuniversität Leoben scored 1.8 points on a satisfaction scale from 1 (very satisfied) to 7 (very dissatisfied), the Austrian average being 2.2 points. An impressive 93.9% of the interviewed students would recommend studying at Montanuniversität. The students were particularly positive about the professional competence, the availability, motivation and helpfulness of their professors, the practical relevance of their studies and the availability of literature from the university’s library. The city of Leoben was positively rated for pricing levels and its transport infrastructure.

Concerning the overall satisfaction with Montanuniversität, the findings of the student survey “Universum Talent Research 2018” confirmed the results of the previous mentioned survey. On a scale from 0 (not at all satisfied) to 10 (extremely satisfied), Montanuniversität scored 8.2 points (Austrian average: 7.5). Only 11% of the students awarded points lower than 7. 26% awarded even the total number of points. In the course of the survey, attributes such as “international recognition”, “key position within the respective subject area”, “successful alumni” and “prestige” were strongly associated with Montanuniversität.

As well as that, Montanuniversität Leoben was rated as a top employer. In the ranking “Austria’s Best Employer 2019” conducted by the magazine “trend”, Montanuniversität was listed once again 1 st in the category “Education and Research” and 16 th out of 300 companies in the overall ranking.

In the survey “World’s best Universities for Oil, Gas and Petroleum Engineering” conducted by the magazine “CEOWORLD”, Montanuniversität Leoben eventually secured an excellent 3 th place. The list is led by the McDougall School of Petroleum Engineering of the University of Tulsa (USA, 98.7 points), followed by the University of Aberdeen (UK, 98.5 points) and Montanuniversität with 98.3 points. The highest possible number of points was 100. Among the Top 35, 15 universities were from the USA and six from the UK. Montanuniversität is the only university in the German-speaking area to be ranked top.

Österreichs "beste" Universität

In verschiedenen Umfragen und Rankings sticht die Montanuniversität Leoben bereits seit Jahren mit Top-Platzierungen hervor.

Spitzenplätze konnten Fachgebiete der Montanuniversität im „ShanghaiRanking's Global Ranking of Academic Subjects 2018“ erzielen. Im Bereich „Metallurgical Engineering“ weist das Ranking die Alma Mater Leobiensis als 17. von 200 Universitäten weltweit auf. Im Bereich „Mining & Mineral Engineering“ erzielte die Montanuniversität Leoben den 35. Rang von 100 Hochschulen.
Die ersten neun Ränge im Metallurgie-Ranking gingen an Universitäten aus Fernost, den USA und Australien, Platz 1 an die University of Science and Technology in Peking. Betrachtet man nur die am besten bewerteten europäischen Hochschulen, so scheint die Montanuni am dritten Rang hinter der britischen University of Manchester und der deutschen RWTH Aachen auf. Weitere bekannte Unis z. B. die belgische KU Leuven und die ETH Zürich (beide Rang 51-75) werden deutlich dahinter angeführt.
Im Bereich Bergbau/Rohstoffingenieurwesen gehen die die ersten 20 Ränge an Hochschulen aus Asien, Nordamerika und Australien, Platz 1 an die University of Queensland. Unter den europäischen Universitäten scheint die Alma Mater Leobiensis am fünften Rang hinter dem britischen Imperial College London, der französischen Université de Lorraine, der polnischen AGH Krakau und der der schwedischen TU in Luleå auf, noch vor renommierten Hochschulen wie der ETH Zürich (CH) und der TU Bergakademie Freiberg (D). Auch die US-amerikanische Colorado School of Mines (Rang 51-75) wird deutlich dahinter angeführt.

 

1,8 auf einer Skala von 1 („sehr zufrieden“) bis 7 („sehr unzufrieden“) – mit dieser Topnote haben die Leobener Studierenden ihre Hochschule bei der Umfrage „trendence Absolventenbarometer 2018“ beurteilt. Der österreichweiten Durchschnitt in dieser Bewertung liegt bei 2,2. 93,9 Prozent der angehenden Montanisten gaben zudem an, das Studium an ihrer Hochschule weiterempfehlen zu können. Besonders positiv bewertet wurden von den Leobener Studierenden die fachliche Kompetenz, Erreichbarkeit sowie Motivation und Hilfsbereitschaft ihrer Professoren, der Praxisbezug des Studiums sowie die Verfügbarkeit von Literatur über die Universitätsbibliothek. Am Standort Leoben gefallen vor allem das Preisniveau und die Verkehrsinfrastruktur.

Dass die Studierenden an der Montanuniversität sehr zufrieden sind, belegten zudem die Ergebnisse der Studentenbefragung „Universum Talent Research 2018“. Auf einer Skala von 0 („überhaupt nicht zufrieden“) bis 10 („extrem unzufrieden“) erzielte die Alma Mater Leobiensis die Bewertung 8,2 (Österreich-Durchschnitt: 7,5). Dabei vergaben nur 11 Prozent der Leobener Studierenden Benotungen schlechter als 7, ganze 26 Prozent jedoch sogar die Topnote 10. Im Zuge der Befragung wurden mit der Montanuni besonders stark die Attribute „Internationale Anerkennung“, „Hoher Stellenrang innerhalb der Fachrichtung“, „Erfolgreiche Alumni“ und „Prestige“ assoziiert.

Einen großartigen Erfolg konnte die Montanuniversität auch als Unternehmen erreichen. So schaffte es die Montanuniversität im trend-Ranking „Österreichs beste Arbeitgeber 2019“ erneut auf Platz 1 in der Kategorie „Bildung und Forschung“ und auf Platz 16 von 300 gelisteten Unternehmen im Gesamtranking.

Eine Top-Bewertung erhält die Montanuniversität schließlich in der vom Magazin „CEOWORLD“ durchgeführten Studie „World’s best Universities for Oil, Gas and Petroleum Engineering“. In einem weltweiten Ranking belegt sie demnach den hervorragenden dritten Platz. Angeführt wird das Ranking von der McDougall School of Petroleum Engineering at the University of Tulsa (USA, 98,7 Punkte), gefolgt von der University of Aberdeen (UK, 98,5 Punkte) und der Montanuniversität mit 98,3 Punkten. Die höchstmögliche Punkteanzahl betrug 100. Unter den Top 35 befinden sich 15 Universitäten aus den USA, sechs aus Großbritannien, die Montanuniversität ist als einzige deutschsprachige Universität top gereiht.